Welcome The Weiland

We learn as students that variability in our instrument set-ups is important to help with ergonomics, hand fatigue, and adequate instrumentation for all types of dentition.  How much trial and error did you go through to find your every day set up?  Are you still using what you did in school?  Has a colleague introduced you to an instrument you just can’t live without?!  If you’re like me, you have done your due diligence by ordering variable instruments, giving them a whirl, and be sorely disappointed when you did not fall in love with them.
Every once in awhile though, a small victory!! and you DO fall in love. And what sweet joy that is โค
It took me a long time, a very long time, and a lot of trial and error, to fall in love with my perfect instrument set up.  I feel as though I have tried one of everything out of the Schein catalog – thanks doc!  However, if all I only had access to the following instruments, I imagine I could conquer the world – or try at least ๐Ÿ™‚
Drum roll …..
For {new} patient assessment and diagnosis:
  • Nordent ODU 11/12 hallow – it’s so light; it feels like you’re holding air – tactile sensitivity is not a problem with this instrument

  • PDT mirror handle with a #5 mirror (double-sided if I feel like spending the extra $$) – the handle is blue (they color-code all their handles for easier detection when on a tray), it is corrugated, and thick (but light) –> easy to find, easy to hold, and very little hand fatigue

  • Premier plastic 3-5-7-10 probe – color-coding made simple: green, cream, red –> excellent for patient education (they may not know what 5mm is but they know what red means)

For scaling and instrumentation:

  • Hu-Friedy, PDT, or Premier silicone handle Barnhart 5/6: surprisingly I’m not as picky with this handle more the shank and/or working end — the Hu-Friedy has Everedge and although I do like to sharpen, the less the better; the PDT is slightly flexible which I find helpful when reaching the D to the second molars, and the silicon handle just feels good ๐Ÿ™‚  This is universal but I do not find it works well #6-11/22-27.

  • PDT 1/2: for the same reasons I like the mirror and the Barhart I love the PDT 1/2 – the working end is sturdy and least importantly, but most fun, it’s purple ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is an area specific and works best #6-11/22-27.

  • Hu-Friedy 28/H5928H59(1)    Not a lot of people are familiar with this instrument and it has replaced the H5/33 because the 28 end (left in photo) is a rounded curve in place of a hard angle.  This is a universal sickle and is best for supragingival scaling.

And the crรจme de la crรจme … my #1 go to for almost everything … the instrument that isn’t even for hygiene …

  • Weiland Carver #7 handle

    Isn’t it gorgeous ๐Ÿ˜€ This is a universal scaler that was originally designed for removing amalgam/cement during restorative procedues.  I was first introduced to this instrument in hygiene school by the one and only, Dr. D. Douglas.  I have had the privilege of working with a lot of dentists in my time but none of them are as skilled in the art of hygiene as this man.  You can scale literally EVERY SURFACE of EVERY TOOTH with this bad mammajamma (yes, that is technical dental jargon).  PDT makes one similar to this called the Montana Jack (it’s yellow) but I’m not as fond of it – the arch is too wide and the instrument’s working end is very thick.

So there you have it.  Nearly 11 years of trial and error and the perfect instrument set up comes down to these 7 instruments.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I still have and use my area specific posterior gracey’s and a new colleague recently introduced me to the Nevi Scoop which is growing on me (thanks Jennie!!) but I don’t feel like I need those on every patient.  When you are working in an established practice and you have the same recare patients the need for the specialized instruments in every day set-ups seems to be lost to me.

What do you use every day? Do you share the love of some of the instruments mentioned above?  Let me know in the comments ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks again for reading and I hope you get an opportunity to try one of these instruments in your practice!  I’ll leave you with this piece of wisdom from the Oral B patient bags … 

Leave a Reply

